[OpenAFS] ACM Software system award to AFS creators!

Giovanni Bracco giovanni.bracco@enea.it
Fri, 19 May 2017 17:23:59 +0200


"Mahadev Satyanarayanan, Michael L. Kazar, Robert N. Sidebotham, David 
A. Nichols, Michael J. West, John H. Howard, Alfred Z. Spector and 
Sherri M. Nichols, recipients of the ACM Software System Award for 
developing the Andrew File System (AFS). AFS was the first distributed 
file system designed for tens of thousands of machines, and pioneered 
the use of scalable, secure and ubiquitous access to shared file data. 
To achieve the goal of providing a common shared file system used by 
large networks of people, AFS introduced novel approaches to caching, 
security, management and administration. AFS is still in use today as 
both an open source system and as the file system in commercial 
applications. It has also inspired several cloud-based storage 

The 2016 Software System Award recipients designed and built the Andrew 
File System in the 1980’s while working as a team at the Information 
Technology Center (ITC), a partnership between Carnegie Mellon 
University and IBM. Many other universities soon integrated AFS before 
it was introduced as a commercial application. Many of this year’s 
recipients also contributed to two foundational AFS papers: The ITC 
Distributed File System: Principles and Design, published in Proceedings 
of ACM SOSP 1985 and Scale and Performance in a Distributed File System, 
published in Proceedings of ACM SOSP 1987


Interesting news for OpenAFS community!


Giovanni Bracco
Via E. Fermi 45
I-00044 Frascati (Roma) Italy
phone +39-06-9400-5597  mobile +39-3351992144
FAX   +39-06-9400-5735
E-mail  giovanni.bracco@enea.it
WWW http://www.afs.enea.it/bracco